January 2015 – $1423

I wanted to go through a single month and make notes about all the extra spending that month that I didn’t need to do.  The exercise is mainly just so that I won’t be surprised by the unexpected, and so I can try to prepare to not get derailed from my plan.

Here are things I spent money on that weren’t in my monthly budget:

  • Burning Man Ticket – $450
  • Fancy restaurant w/ friend’s family – $120
  • Sushi Restaurant w/ Mom $86
  • Electronics from Best Buy ($277)
  • Fancy Bar w/ high school friend $61
  • Paizo – $51
  • Lab tests (not avoidable?) – $43
  • Steam Video Games – $61
  • Extra baggage fee at airport – $25
  • Saw 2 movies in movie theaters – $22
  • Date night dinners – $40
  • From Amazon, I ordered:
    • The Gamesman (book) – $4
    • Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (vg) – $31
    • Life is Beautiful (blu ray movie) – $6.69
    • 3d glasses for my projector – $27
    • Lifeforce (blu ray movie) – $15
  • On Paypal, I spent:
    • video game $21
    • renew some domain name $15
    • vietnam visa $19
    • Toys R Us $48

Totals to $1422.69 in extra spending.  And keep in mind, January was “middle of the pack” in terms of monthly spending in 2015.

Rules I can get from this:

  • no restaurants
  • no bars
  • cancel subscriptions (Paizo already canceled)
  • No video games
  • Don’t renew domain names
  • No Best Buy, Toys R Us, etc.
  • No theater movies
  • Fly w/ Southwest
Leave a Reply

