What is my car spending per year?

The Man Who Gets His Cars for Free

$575/month

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 7.42.59 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 7.43.15 PM.png

Depreciation is fair.  Taxes and fees seem fair.  Financing doesn’t apply to me.  Fuel applies… I budget $100/month ($6000).  I probably use less than that.  Insurance, I pay about $600 a year I think?  So that’s about right.  Maintenance seems high… over $1000 a year?  Repairs aren’t high, but only because my car has been broken into so many times…

So, overall. fuel is high, finances is high, and maintenance is high.  Other than that it’s about right.  We’ll say maybe I paid $25k… $5k / year.  Given, I think the depreciation in 5 years was a lot more than $5k, so there’s that.  More like $416/month.

Leave a Reply

