February 2016, Extra Spending

A detailed look at how close I am to matching the plan.

$9884 = bank account

$764 is the budgeted spending for the first 2 weeks of February.  Actual spending is $1589.68.  That’s $825 extra.

The extra is in several categories:

  • budgeted spending that was higher than I budgeted… (this is only like $12 or something)
  • spending from last month that bled into this month (e.g. groceries or a bill that arrived late) ($215)
  • groceries ($88)
  • wasteful spending i regret ($408, the majority)
  • “wasteful” spending I don’t regret Financial Peace University ($102)

Some of the ATM cash will be used to make purchases I needed to make anyway (mainly food and a haircut), but I want to be conservative, so I’ll just count it all as waste.

  • Bleeding and Groceries are fine.  I’d pay them / they’re budgeted anyway.
  • I don’t regret all of the wasteful spending (Dave Ramsey FPU), but it’s clear that I could have avoided most of that stuff without much consequence.
  • I’ve predicted my costs pretty well… but I still haven’t said no enough.
  • Need to say no to San Francisco events, discount movies, and video games.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 9.31.02 AM.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 9.31.20 AM.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 9.31.55 AM.png

 

Waste is at $408… but probably it’s more like $300, since I’m spending some cash at grocery stores and other expenses I don’t bother to restrict.  That’s not too bad.

Okay… what’s budgeted for the second half of February?  $685.  $185 for bills and $500 for food.  $9884 – $685 = $9200.

March beginning money = $9200+$3910 = $13,110.

March mortgage payment = $13,110 – $9756 = $3354.

$3354 is a nice chunk of change, but since I’ll only be able to save a max of $6000 from my two March paychecks, it’s not enough to cover the April mortgage payment.  Plus, I need to buy 2 Burning Man tickets.  So I’m probably off of my plan by like $1200.   Bleh.

 

Leave a Reply

