Waste

$200 yo-yo (Oxygene Oxy 3, the first Oxygene yo-yo released)

$300 speakers (2 BIC DV84 speakers)

$90 video games (Zelda Twilight Princess and Xenoblade Chronicles X)

$100 echo dot

= $690

I kind of exploded over the weekend.  The $200 yo-yo was a very rare model in good condition.  The $300 speakers are a consumptive fix for my broken back speaker ($60ish to replace).  Instead I’ll just move the front speakers to the rear and put the new speakers in the front.  If I fix the back left speaker, then I can use it for 7.2 surround sound.

The video games… the main one is Zelda Twilight Princess HD.  I tried to cancel the other one, but I couldn’t.  It’s also a good game… But yeah they are expensive.

Overall… Yeah, this delays me… but as long as I don’t do it again for another month or two, it doesn’t derail my plan by that much.  I was really annoyed when the speaker stopped working and the surround cut out, and I’ve been wanting more bass in my front speakers for a while.  In a way, I feel like, if I’m going to do this, I want my home theater to satisfy me.  Do I need the home theater?  No, of course not.  And I have some great headphones anyway.  So definitely part of this is the lame “I deserve this” feeling.  Next FPU class is tonight.

I’m giving up $2000 in future money.  I also bought an LED which I mounted on the bottom of my bedside table so I can turn on a light at night without having my eyes explode ($6.99)

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50302670/

There are still several tempting yo-yos on eBay.  An old collector is selling his collection.  These would just be multiples of yo-yos I already own.  And eventually I’ll get old and just have to sell them myself, so what’s the point?

Maybe when I have issues with things and I’m tempted to spend more money to solve them, I should just put that money into Lending Club, or some other ~5 year time horizon investment.

Speaking of Lending Club, one of my loans went into default:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.50.34 AM.png

Why in the world did this loan need to go into default?  Job loss?  Given, the job title was misspelled.  Maybe that should’ve been a sign.

B/c of the waste, it’s like the weekend never happened.  I’m probably about 1% off.  But according to my chart, I’m at 21.6%.  I think the plan is roughly 2 saved dollars per earned dollar, so by actually working days, to earn the money Back I think it’s more like 3 ($690 waste/($341 money progress per day*.66 fraction of money progress that is earnings)).

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 9.37.15 AM.png

Averaging $500/month isn’t great :-/

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 8.00.07 AM.png

Leave a Reply

