Up up up

I get paid tomorrow.  It’s cool to see it go up, but I should prepare myself for it to drop again.Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 2.42.41 PM.png  In a year, I’m saving around $60k.  That’s about +14.7 on my net worth, plus whatever the investments return.  Maybe I should focus on total shares of stock owned instead of money.Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 7.14.26 AM.png

$73,761 – that’s the difference in net worth between April 14, 2016 and April 14, 2015.  Let’s make a pie chart.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 9.30.05 PM.png

Sigh.  Almost all of it has to do with the condo.  54.1% of it isn’t related to my behavior.  45.9% reflects about $33,856.  A lot was devoured by investment losses.  Too much.  Let’s look at my savings behavior for that same period.

$69,704 –> $114,885.  $45,181 is how much I saved during that period.  So of the money I saved for the last year, about 25% of it was lost.  FUCK.  That’s so frustrating.  It’s like I saved $4k every month for the last year, and $1k just fucking disappeared.  That’s $12k.  Accounting for taxes, that’s like $20k of my gross income just fucking disappeared.  It’s no mystery what happened to it:  Andy’s shitty investment advice, that I took like a moron.  What would have happened if I had invested only in VTI for the last year?

  1.  What were my major investment dates?
  2.  What was the price of VTI?
Leave a Reply

