Year Summary

$57,542 seems to be the savings total for 2016.  The previous high was $55,622 in 2014, so I have managed to hit an all time high, which feels good (and is necessary to beat inflation ;-).  It’s clear 2016 could have been even better though, if I hadn’t spent the money on the new computer/desk stuff, and if I hadn’t taken such expensive vacations.

I added in some new savings accounts I didn’t have in the spreadsheet before.  It’s going to need some cleanup after the IRA and 401(k) rollovers, opening of the Betterment e-fund, and my recent trend of actually using my savings account for… savings.

I really wish the Google Sheets chart I generate would be even on the x-axis in terms of time.  As is, it’s distorted and fixing it is too annoying.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 9.59.35 AM.png

If you look at the big fat red section, that represents Edward Jones.  Understand, this graph represents my behavior — my contributions and withdrawals from savings.  It doesn’t represent the actual account balances or investment performance.  The balance on EJ accounts is now zero, so what the remaining $6400 height represents is loss from the investments in that account.  In other words, I contributed $6400 to those accounts during this time span that I never got back.  The IRA account may have done better, but $6400 is unacceptable.  Ugh.  Glad I’m out of that bullshit.  And that’s not even considering the opportunity costs of those investments.

$57,542/$98,383 (take home pay based on $159k income, which is a little too high) = 58.4% savings rate.  That seems good.  Clearly I need to make better decisions about how I’m investing.  I think Betterment is a great start to that.

Man, $98k on $159k, really?  38% tax rate.  I pay more in taxes than I’m able to save for myself.  Uggggghhhh.

I looked at the total savings and picked the first data point for every year to get a roughly even distribution in time:

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 10.53.11 AM.png

Leave a Reply

