Symbolic House

The house my parents had to sell when they got divorced just went on the market.

I could buy it (but that would be fucked up b/c it would be weird and upsetting for my mom especially).    It’s on the market for $379k.  Interesting that number is so close to the proceeds I’d get from selling the condo.  But also interesting that, looking at the interior pics (it’s been heavily remodeled)… I don’t want the luxury they represent, even as I’m nostalgic for my childhood, for rooms and people who no longer exist.

My high school is no longer the same school.  My college is no longer the same college.  My first job – the people and the company no longer exist in the same office.  We better take the time to enjoy good things while we’re in the moment, because later everything will be different.  The people I’ve spent time with who are no longer in my life.  I should pay careful attention to appreciate and enjoy the people in my life now because later many of them will be gone.

Nature’s first green is gold, 
Her hardest hue to hold. 
Her early leaf’s a flower; 
But only so an hour. 
Then leaf subsides to leaf. 
So Eden sank to grief, 
So dawn goes down to day. 
Nothing gold can stay. 
- Robert Frost

AMAZING!!Top to bottom renovation in 2016-17/New HVAC 2016/Dreamy kitchen with cherry floors, custom maple cabinetry w-soft close drawers-doors, huge granite island, induction cook top, all superior SS apps remain/4″White oak solid floors on main & in all bedrooms-no carpet!/ Master has flex room/Second staircase leads to the 4th bedroom w-French pocket doors & its own flex rm, 3 separate temp controls upstairs/All baths renovated/Flagstone patio under the 80′ deck overlooks fenced in backyard/beautiful landscaping/Walk to Camp Creek/Parkview/ Appointment only/OCCUPIED

google view.PNG

 

And just for fun, the house from “Home Alone”

https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/671-Lincoln-Ave-Winnetka-IL-60093/3360197_zpid/

Leave a Reply

