Crunk

Tonight I decided to drink the beer I bought at Trader Joe’s ($8) and watch TV.

What occurs to me tonight is that I can remember many past nights when I would drink a beer and order a few blu-ray discs and things on Amazon.  As you can tell from my last few posts, I spent part of today developing ideas around savings rate and financial independence.  Spending money on Amazon just feels like damage to my independence.

I tried today to post my spreadsheet on Reddit, and people didn’t like it.  I guess this shouldn’t be surprising – if this blog was helpful and clear, it would be a lot more popular than it is (not at all).  That’s okay, since I’ve been using it mostly as a scratch bad, but it’s something I need to improve.

The happy / sad ratio on Reddit is roughly 50/50.  It looks like the reason is b/c I wasn’t clear enough, so either:

  1.  My initial explanation sucked.
  2. The concept was too high level for people.
  3. There is a much better way to present the same idea.

I think #1 is definitely true.  I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about the description.  #2 is probably 50% true.  I’m not sure about the average Reddit personal finance user, but the average person is fucking stupid doesn’t have time to read my mind, so I definitely can’t count on an audience paying too much attention.  I’m an optimist, so I also believe #3 is true… probably the better way doesn’t require as much explanation, but I haven’t had a great idea for it yet.

Leave a Reply

