Long Time, No See

I’ve gained a social life in the last couple of weeks, and that has cut back on the time I have to update this.

The emergency fund rebuilding has been going slow.  I kind of knew in my head this would happen.  TBH, it is a relief to not really think about the money after doing it for so long, but I also know I will have to get back on the discipline horse sooner or later.

Since the June 4 note, I also bought:

$29 book of old poetry that I already own that I like to buy on impulse

$140 autoclosing cat feeder (this one is actually exciting)

$10 comic book

$30 smart desk light

$30 video game

$12.50 video game

About $250 of stuff.  Definitely not the end of the world.  The cat feeder is especially exciting b/c it is a time / sleep saver.  One of my cats is a land shark and eats the other cat’s food.  This cat feeder reads the chip of the victim cat and only opens the lid when that cat is ready to eat.  This frees up my time and attention to stop policing cat eating, and the victim cat also doesn’t have to bug me in the morning for food.  Win win!!!  Spending money to free up my time and attention is the best!!

The $30 smart desk light was a gift, and that’s def a reasonable gift.  The other money was on video games and book, about $40 each.  Not bad.  Yesterday I was tempted to buy another video game for $30 but successfully resisted it.  The spending has been more than in the hermit months, but it hasn’t been completely bonkers.  The problem was just getting hit with the big insurance / flight expenses right as I depleted my savings.  Tomorrow I should get paid.  That’ll bring me up to $4500ish savings.  I need to put some spending boundaries back in place though…  I also need to film some videos.

Leave a Reply

